Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nutritional Science Database User Guide

Full text via Rightfind

The metadata table for many of the records contains a field either labelled Source URL or Obtain full text with a link starting with https://www.rightfind.com/... This will take to you the IFIS Collections full text partner the Copyright Clearance Center. You must register the first time you visit. Once signed in, you will see the option to purchase the full text. Most articles are delivered immediately by email once ordered. Open Access articles are also generally available free of charge through this link. 

Full text via the DOI

On the search results page many records have a link labelled DOI. Clicking on this will normally take you to the original article on the publisher's website.

Virtually all journal articles, reviews, and book chapters include the DOI, as do some books and conference proceedings. Almost no reports, standards, patents or theses will have it. 

Patents

Patents are freely available online. Here are three ways to find the documents.


Get full text with Espacenet 

Searching Espacenet, the European Patent Office’s patent search interface, is often the best way to find the original downloadable patent documents. This site also collates patent families, linking together patent applications for the same content filed with patent offices around the world. To find a patent search the patent’s title inside quotation marks or search the patent number (found in the IFIS Collections record for the patent) with spaces closed.


Get full text with Google Patents 

Type the patent title, inside quotation marks, into the simple search box or search by publication number, with any spaces closed. Sometimes Google Patents results will include a downloadable PDF version of a patent and sometimes only an HTML version.


Go directly to a country’s patent office search 

In the rare cases that Espacenet or Google Patents fail to retrieve a patent’s text, try googling the issuing patent office. Translate the page, if necessary, to find how to proceed. You can learn more about retrieving food science and nutrition patents here.

Other documents without a DOI (standards, reports, theses, etc.)

To find other documents that do not have a direct link to their full text, try searching the internet for the full title, inside quotation marks. That may lead you to either a free version of the text, or one for purchase. 

Note that sometimes multiple versions of something with the same title exists - a thesis might also be published as a conference proceeding and a journal article - so always doublecheck that you are finding what you want to find.